Peacebuilding Commission (PBC) Membership

Founded as an intergovernmental body, the PBC is comprised of 31 UN Member States. Member States are either selected by the Security Council, General Assembly and ECOSOC or on the basis of specific critieria (e.g. being a top UN donor or troop-contributor). 

Relevant stakeholders outside of the member states are regularly invited participate in PBC country-specific meetings. These include: relevant donors such as the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, regional banks and funds, and bilateral donor governments; regional actors such as regional and sub-regional organizations and neighboring states; and other relevant actors such as representatives from governments actively engaged in peacebuilding and/or peacekeeping activities in the selected country.

Often, meetings at UN headquarters include a video-link with representatives of the government in the country receiving advice, as well as representatives from the UN country team.

PBC Chair: Republic of Korea (RoK)
PBC vice-Chair: Kenya
PBC Vice-Chair: Mexico

Current Members (as of January 2016)

Five of the top providers of assessed and of voluntary contributions to the UN, including the Peacebuilding Fund: Brazil, Canada, Germany, Japan, Norway

Five top troop/military contributors: Bangladesh, Ethiopia, India, Pakistan, Rwanda

Seven Security Council members: China, France, Russia, Senegal, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Seven  Economic and Social Council members (one seat still vacant): Argentina, Belgium, Estonia, Nigeria, Republic of Korea, South Africa

Seven General Assembly members: Colombia, Egypt, El Salvador, Kenya, Indonesia, Mexico, Montenegro

Additional participants in all meetings: The European Union (EU), The International Monetary Fund (IMF), The Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), The World Bank (WB)